|
| Author | Message |
|---|
Follower of Jesus

Number of posts: 374 Registration date: 2007-05-02
 | Subject: CMR hacked?! Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:32 pm | |
| I just tried to log in over at CMR and it won't work and big "Anonymous" thing shows up. Wasn't this the group that hacked websites a couple of weeks ago as a protest against the MegaUpload arrests? Wow...hope this board is spared! |
|
 | |
danielbandfan

Number of posts: 1338 Localisation: NOT frozen tundra Registration date: 2011-03-26
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Tue Jan 31, 2012 7:48 pm | |
| Yep… read the thread in the Discussion Chamber for a little more info.  |
|
 | |
Staybrite

Number of posts: 8316 Age: 44 Localisation: Seattle Registration date: 2007-02-08
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Tue Jan 31, 2012 10:01 pm | |
| That really stinks. And I still don't know why anyone would get joy out of ruining a website. _________________ "I used to be indecisive.......... Now I'm not sure."
|
|
 | |
Hardkore

Number of posts: 572 Age: 41 Localisation: Lower Alabama Registration date: 2007-06-03
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Wed Feb 01, 2012 7:43 am | |
| We just got the Music Vault back and now this happens.  |
|
 | |
Staybrite

Number of posts: 8316 Age: 44 Localisation: Seattle Registration date: 2007-02-08
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:28 pm | |
| Yes, sad indeed. _________________ "I used to be indecisive.......... Now I'm not sure."
|
|
 | |
Guilty/Forgiven

Number of posts: 2693 Age: 42 Localisation: Yucca Valley, CA Registration date: 2007-05-18
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Wed Feb 01, 2012 3:24 pm | |
| I hope it ain't cuz of links to album downloads, cuz I've posted about 3 or 4 here at CHM, but they were of TOTALLY OOS obscure impossible to buy albums.
I ask this NOW: is there a way to back up this entire CHM site ? There must be a way. I've seen programs that can download entire websites for viewing offline. Maybe that's an option to backing up our CHM home ? |
|
 | |
alldatndensum Admin

Number of posts: 9136 Age: 42 Localisation: Tennessee Registration date: 2007-01-30
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:46 pm | |
| Anything you know of that is free? If so, I'd love to do a backup. Niceboard/Forumotion do create backups from time to time. However, depending on the depth of the hack, even those can't always be saved. _________________  I might have decided, or maybe not, that I should or shouldn't, depending on the issue or non-issue, to possibly share or not share, any thoughts, opinions, or facts (that might not be deemed factual by some), due to possible fear of any misinterpretation or retribution. |
|
 | |
Dynamis

Number of posts: 955 Localisation: Arizona Registration date: 2007-04-28
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Wed Feb 01, 2012 7:13 pm | |
| I back up Angelic Warlord on a routine basis to a basic CD-R. Don't know if this will work for an online forum or not... |
|
 | |
Guilty/Forgiven

Number of posts: 2693 Age: 42 Localisation: Yucca Valley, CA Registration date: 2007-05-18
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Wed Feb 01, 2012 7:41 pm | |
| | Quote: |
<p>Anything you know of that is free? |
I've used HTTrack in the past. It's hit and miss, but it's free so it might be worth a shot. I've successfully downloaded entire reference websites, but some are protected from these kind of website downloaders (yes, I confess, I tried to copy the entire BibleGateway website to my hard drive - but it was only cuz I wanted to use the website on a trip without internet) http://www.httrack.com/ |
|
 | |
Fundy

Number of posts: 2226 Age: 37 Registration date: 2007-05-04
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:29 am | |
| Anyone know anything more about cmr? It's still down  Fundy _________________ My Christian Metal Website......... www.bbillett.freeserve.co.uk
Three Things for a better life... 1 - Believe In Jesus. 2 - Love one another. 3 - Let God be the judge. That is all I need to say.
|
|
 | |
Staybrite

Number of posts: 8316 Age: 44 Localisation: Seattle Registration date: 2007-02-08
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:49 am | |
| | Fundy wrote: | Anyone know anything more about cmr? It's still down 
|
There is another thread in the discussion section that goes into a bit more depth than this one. But basiclly Arttie has another incarnation of the CMR up and running through another platform site. Here is the link.
http://thecmr.forumotion.com/ _________________ "I used to be indecisive.......... Now I'm not sure."
|
|
 | |
alldatndensum Admin

Number of posts: 9136 Age: 42 Localisation: Tennessee Registration date: 2007-01-30
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:02 am | |
| Don't even go to the old site as Arttie is concerned about possible malware being attached to it. Just go to the new site that Staybrite listed and sign up. From here on, that is the new CMR. _________________  I might have decided, or maybe not, that I should or shouldn't, depending on the issue or non-issue, to possibly share or not share, any thoughts, opinions, or facts (that might not be deemed factual by some), due to possible fear of any misinterpretation or retribution. |
|
 | |
ChosenOne

Number of posts: 650 Age: 35 Localisation: Iowa Registration date: 2007-09-06
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:23 am | |
| | alldatndensum wrote: | | Don't even go to the old site as Arttie is concerned about possible malware being attached to it. Just go to the new site that Staybrite listed and sign up. From here on, that is the new CMR. |
I signed up a few days back and haven't received anything as to my account being activiated. |
|
 | |
Staybrite

Number of posts: 8316 Age: 44 Localisation: Seattle Registration date: 2007-02-08
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:07 pm | |
| | ChosenOne wrote: | | alldatndensum wrote: | | Don't even go to the old site as Arttie is concerned about possible malware being attached to it. Just go to the new site that Staybrite listed and sign up. From here on, that is the new CMR. |
I signed up a few days back and haven't received anything as to my account being activiated. |
That's not good, I don't know if is automatic, or if a mod/admin needs to approve it..... but I got my e-mail activation almost immediately. _________________ "I used to be indecisive.......... Now I'm not sure."
|
|
 | |
alldatndensum Admin

Number of posts: 9136 Age: 42 Localisation: Tennessee Registration date: 2007-01-30
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Sun Feb 05, 2012 1:19 pm | |
| Right now, only Arttie and Rex have mod/admin powers. There is no approval system in place at this time just to get the main subscribers back on the board. You should have gotten your email immediately. Try signing up with a new name. I had to. _________________  I might have decided, or maybe not, that I should or shouldn't, depending on the issue or non-issue, to possibly share or not share, any thoughts, opinions, or facts (that might not be deemed factual by some), due to possible fear of any misinterpretation or retribution. |
|
 | |
topshot rhit
Number of posts: 1790 Localisation: Indiana Registration date: 2007-01-30
 | Subject: Re: CMR hacked?! Yesterday at 9:08 pm | |
| | alldatndensum wrote: | | Anything you know of that is free? If so, I'd love to do a backup. Niceboard/Forumotion do create backups from time to time. However, depending on the depth of the hack, even those can't always be saved. | Supposedly, daily backups are being done. At least the admin panel says it is active (look under Security.) However, only you have access to that section so I can't see what it is really doing and if they would be any use and if you could also download it onto your hard drive. _________________ "If you are not concerned about your neighbor's salvation, you should be concerned about your own."
|
|
 | |
|