Christian Hard Music
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

For lovers of Christian rock and heavy metal!

HomeHome  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Worship band players

Go down 
+2
ishmael81
Driven
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Driven

Driven

Number of posts : 6210
Registration date : 2011-03-26

Worship band players Empty
PostSubject: Worship band players   Worship band players I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 10, 2012 5:46 pm

I have a question… so I've been playing on Sundays for a few months now (mostly bass but sometimes drums). We usually do two upbeat songs as the introduction, and three slower songs during mid-service, and one or two closing songs. However, I've noticed that I tend to lose my concentration towards the middle of the worship set, during the slower songs. Do you have any tips for staying focused during these slower songs? If so, pray share them. Thanks Smile
Back to top Go down
ishmael81

ishmael81

Number of posts : 3417
Registration date : 2012-06-08

PostSubject: Re: Worship band players   Worship band players I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 10, 2012 6:29 pm

I played drums for our old church. It's easy to get distracted during slow songs.

You mentioned what I did a lot of during that time - pray. Also, how do you view what you're doing? Are you just playing drums, or are you worshipping God with your playing? Once I began to worship God through that skill, it was a whole new ballgame.
Back to top Go down
Staybrite

Staybrite

Number of posts : 23432
Registration date : 2007-02-08

PostSubject: Re: Worship band players   Worship band players I_icon_minitimeMon Dec 10, 2012 7:09 pm

I used to play guitar (and sometimes bass) in the band at my old church. I too would tend to loose focus (ie get bored) during the less upbeat songs. It helped me to stay focus by making up silly words to the songs....Kind of a Silly Worship Songs with Larrry (ala Veggie Tales) kinda thing.